How We Got Here

Christine asked how we got here, and I’ve been vague so far, so here’s the story of Charlie’s birth.  Perhaps I’ll get into the aftermath later–perhaps not.  Just thinking about it makes me want throw up and curl up on the bathroom floor, so I might not be ready for all that.
 
Almost as soon as I turned 37 weeks, I started to notice that Charlie wasn’t moving around as much.  Consult any baby book, and they will tell you that this is common.  I was having regular appointments, and everything seemed fine, so I chalked it up to my own nueroses.
 
On Wednesday I noticed fetal movement at lunch, and then didn’t notice it again for the rest of the day.  After dinner, I became concerned.  I lied down on the couch and waited to feel my baby move.  Through show after show I waited and waited, and there was no movement.  After a while, I started trying the tricks recommended in books: caffeine, sweet drinks, and a cell phone set to vibrate.  Still, no movement.  At 2:45 in the morning, I’d had enough.  If I was officially labelled "the crazy one" I did NOT care–something was wrong.  I called Labor and Delivery, talked with a nurse, and she suggested I come in and get a stress test done just for piece of mind.
 
I arrived at the hospital a little after three, and to my relief a heart beat was picked up immediately.  Whew.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t the type of heart beat you want to hear in a baby.  The machine was registering 130 beats a minute, but the nurse felt something was wrong.  Rather than going by the machine, she used a good ole fashioned watch and found that Charlie’s heart was beating closer to 270 beats a minutes–so fast, the monitor couldn’t count every beat. 
 
By five a.m. Charlie had been delivered by emergency c-section.  The doctors have no idea how long his heart had been beating like that, but they know it was probably several days.  I know it my heart that he woudn’t not have survived much longer like that.  I thank God for that nurse and her intuition.
 
Keep up the prayers.  Someone said they don’t know what to write when they come here.  You don’t have to write a thing.  Every prayer and thought is felt through the miles, and I know that this is what has kept him here.
 
Much Love
 
KM
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How We Got Here

  1. g says:

    Thanks for sharing and your in my thoughts and prayers.
     
    g.j.

  2. BP says:

    Intuition of nurses saved my life and obviously Charlie\’s also.  You will definitely be in my thoughts and I personally believe the more thoughts and prayers do better.  When I was initially injured (spinal cord accident) I had three full churches praying for me not to mention all of the privates (I was a drill sergeant at the time).  It did wonders for me and I received the miracle of being able to breathe on my own again.  Positive thinking, prayers, thoughts, call it what you will, it is nothing but positive and I believe it does wonders.Billy

    Please excuse any errors. Due to my quadriplegia, I am using voice-activated software and it occasionally makes mistakes which I do not always catch. I therefore humbly ask for your indulgence.

  3. Michelle says:

    Katy;
     
    I just want to say that we love you.  I can\’t imagine how hard it must be just for you to be here, but hopefully coming online to see what all of your friends have to say is some iota of therapy for you.  May you take some comfort in knowing that all around the globe, everywhere there is someone whose life you\’ve touched with your words, there\’s a prayer being sent.  Some by ones, some by tens or hundreds. 
     
    Keep on staying strong.  We appreciate any word from you as to how you are, even if all we are is faceless names in the crowd.  We all care.
     
     
    Michelle

  4. Christine says:

    Katy,
    I am sure that it was difficult for you to share this with us.  Knowing what to pray fro help me to focus, and having that nurse mindset, it gives me, I don\’t know….I guess something more concrete. Anyway, it will help me to focus more clearly on Charlie\’s needs as I pray for him.  I want to remind you that a c-section is major surgery, so you be sure to do what the doctors tell you to take care of yourself, as well.  If you wear yourself out, you will not be any good to anyone.  Lots of love and prayers going your way.
     
    Christine

  5. Courtney says:

    you, charlie, and the hub have been in my thoughts and prayers since i first read what happened… stay strong, you have been amazing so far!!!

  6. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Thinking about you and your family KM, and praying that baby Charlie gets better every single day.  Luv and hugs!

  7. Cindy says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with Charlie and all of you.
    (And you\’re absolutely right – he IS beautiful!)
    Hugs
    Cindy

  8. Becca says:

    Wow, that is a lot to go through, I am glad that you and Charlie are still with us. How is he holding up? How are you?
    Hugs,
    Becca

  9. Antonella says:

    Thank God that you were persistant and thank God for that nurse. I hope that Charlie is doing well on his IV, and I\’m still praying all the time for you guys,
    Antonella

  10. Sanne says:

    Hi there…I came here from Tiffany\’s site and read about sweet Little Charlie.  I\’ll admit that I don\’t do much praying but tonight I\’ll send one up for you and you\’re little man just for good measure.  He\’s absolutely beautiful and I wish you guys all the best :o) Sanne

  11. Cheryl says:

    Hey Katie,
    You and Little Charlie hang in there!  I will keep checking on you and praying!
    Cheryl

  12. K says:

    Still here lending support for you all.
    (((hugs)))
    KC

  13. Tracy says:

    Been thinking about you and Charlie a lot, you are the nicest person and I hate you having to go thru this!!  Thanks for the back story -I didn\’t want to ask but knew you\’d tell when you were ready.  That is so scary, good for YOU and your intuition, as well as the nurse\’s. Keep up your strength!

  14. Sarah says:

    You know, already there are things to be thankful for in your story. You realized something was wrong. The nurse went the extra mile because she didn\’t trust the machine. Because of these things, your boy has a chance, when who knows what would have happened if neither one of these things had happened. Thanks for sharing the backstory. I had been wondering what set the events into motion. I also want to thank you for updating us regularly. I\’d be really worried if we didn\’t hear from you!

Leave a Reply

