Charlie Update

I’m a little blue today, but for no reason other than the obvious.  So far, Charlie seems to have established that he’s stable, and that’s a good thing.
 
The down side for me is that now nuerology is going after him with a vengence.  The blood on his brain is still sitting there–not really an increase, but not re-absorbing either.  At this point, this is not a problem, but if it doesn’t re-absorb, he may have to have a surgery to drain it.  Surgery is not good–it can be very traumatic for a child as young as Charlie.  I’ve said that I’m going to ignore the brain stuff since it’s a mystery even to the experts, but that’s hard to do when they’re jamming it in your face 
 
After speaking with the Dr. about the brain I went in and told Charlie "you prove those bastards wrong!"  Right after I said that, he scrunched up his face four times in succession.  I decided he’s putting his game face on.
 
KM
 
PS: My one-week-old son will be getting his first mp3 player today.  We’re going to record lullabyes and our voices on it, so he can hear them even when we’re not at the hospital.  Kind of crazy, huh?
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Charlie Update

  1. Cindy says:

    Not crazy at all! It will give him comfort I\’m sure.
    Hang in there, Katie.
    Hugs
     

  2. Tiffany says:

    That\’s awesome news that he is stable!  Just let the brain work like it needs to!  Surgery isn\’t good… you are right, but if it helps and it\’s needed then it will be best to let them do it.  Those little babies are stronger than we give them credit for sometimes!  It may seem like a lot and totally overwhelming, but just take one day at a time.  Also, find this time as good time for you to take it easy.  I had to keep reminding myself that over the 3 weeks that Baylee spent in the Hospital.  But, once she came home I was all healed up and her room was ready for her!
     
    The MP3 player is an AWESOME idea!  Also, take a picture of you and your hubs to put in his incubator/isolette.. that way you are with him ALL the time even when you are away RESTING!  😉 
     
    Great big hugs to you… I know you are busy, but I\’m here for you if you need to talk!  I know how traumatic having a child in the NICU can be… stay strong dear Katy!  We are all praying for you, hubs and always little Charlie!
     
    Tiffany

  3. Nadine says:

     My daughter and her hubsand did the same thing!
     Not an Ipod but a guitar and they sat there singin\’ to the baby.
     
    Yes He\’s a fighter! It\’s only right he put on his game face.
    Hang in there!!

  4. Della says:

    That\’s not crazy in the slightest, it\’s brilliant!  I\’m so happy to hear he\’s stabilized. 

  5. Gina says:

    He most def was putting on his game face! He will surprise every one of those doctors.  Keep your spirits up! I am continuing to pray and wish strength for you and Charlie.  And of course, your hubby.  I love your lullaby idea.  See, you guys have this parenting down already.  :o)
     
    Love, Gina.

  6. Sarah says:

    I love that you told him that. He\’ll show them and then you\’ll be able to tell them all "I told you so."
     
    The MP3 player is a great idea! What a sweet thought!

  7. g says:

    MP3 player…not crazy at all.  I think it is a great idea!  And feeling blue is normal. You just had a sick baby by cesearean section and I honestly don\’t know how you are NOT flat on your back.  You are very strong.  Recovering from a c-section in itself it very difficult. I did it twice and having a baby after major surgery is very hard and then add the baby being sick?  OMGosh…you are strong.  It is normal to feel blue.  My thoughts and prayers are with you everyday.
     
    g.j.

  8. Tracy says:

    I love the mp3 player idea.  He is such a strong little guy, I\’m sure he will prove to be a miracle!  You\’re such a good mom.  I hope you are taking good care of yourself too!

  9. Johanna says:

    Katy-
    He\’s telling them to "bring it…" He sounds like a fighter your Charlie. He\’s trying to tell you that. Please try to remember to take care of yourself. Emergency c-section is a big deal. Keep your head up. I\’m glad you are able to update as I pray for you and Charlie and the hub every day. Be well. Johanna

  10. Lin says:

    The MP3 is a great idea.He will be soothed & calmed at the same time as getting strength from You & Hub\’s voices…This is a GREAT idea Katy…He is a fighter.Now he is getting serious about it…The Dr\’s will get to eat their words.You all 3 are in my hearts,thoughts & prayers…GOD be with you.Love Linda

  11. Christine says:

    I think the MP3 player sounds like a wonderful idea!  You try to rest and relax as much as you can.  You are all being cradled in God\’s hands.  He is carrying you right now.  Charlie sounds like a real fighter! 
     
    Lord, continue to bring healing to Charlie.  He is a beutiful creation, Lord, and a blessing to his parents.  Give this small family the strength to get through whatever comes their way, and the ability to remember that you will not give them any more than they can handle.
     
    Amen.

  12. Antonella says:

    I\’m so happy that he\’s stabile. That\’s such a good sign.
     
    The mp3 player is a great idea!! The music and your voices will be very comforting to him. He\’s getting ready to fight even harder now. You have a strong little boy. God bless him!
    HUGS,
    Antonella

  13. Jaysey says:

    I love that–he\’s got his game face on.  I think the MP3 player is a fabulous idea–and just another clear indicator of what wonderful parents you are–and how lucky Charlie is.  Give \’em hell Charlie!  I\’m lighting my candle again tonight.

  14. Carol says:

    I\’m so happy to hear that Charlie\’s stable.  That boy\’s a fighter…and so are you.  You\’re in my thoughts.

  15. Carol says:

    I\’m so happy to hear that Charlie\’s stable.  That boy\’s a fighter…and so are you.  You\’re in my thoughts.

  16. Becca says:

    I think that you have a great idea, the mp3 player! Get your game face on Charlie! You prove all those doctors wrong!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  17. Steve says:

    I don\’t think the mp3 idea is crazy at all.
     
    To the contrary, there is a ton of documentary evidence to support the notion that even coma patients can hear what is going on around them, and that friends & loved onestalking to them, even while comatose, helped them to recover consciousness.
     
    You, your family, and little Charlie remain in my thoughts and prayers.
     
    stephen

  18. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Katie I am sorry I have been away for a while.  God gave you this boy because you are the most awesome person I know.  That is why God gives his special babies away only to special parents.  I am going to pray and put him on the prayer list at church.  I also think the mp3 player is an absolute great ideal.  Babies do respond to music and hearing their mother\’s voice.  Love ya girl.

  19. Elizabeth says:

    Looks like Charlie\’s gearing up for battle!Technology has certainly affected our lives in more ways than one.  Twenty years ago this would be possible…with a big lumbering tape player.  Now you can put something smaller than a credit card next to Charlie.  Fantastic idea, KM!!

  20. Nora says:

    That is so cute, the game face!  I love the mp3 player idea too, it sounds wonderful.

  21. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I love it, KM!  It\’s never too early for technology so I am sure Charlie will love an MP3 player:)  Still thinking about you and praying for baby Charlie, you and your family, and the doctors as well.  Stay strong!

  22. Della says:

    This is from my friend Tania who doesn\’t have an account to sign in, so she asked me to pass this on- From your blog we “hear” you:• loving• strong• hopeful• full of faithWhat wonderful traits for a Mother,the same powerful traits that you have seem to given to Charlie.My thoughts are with you and your familyTania

  23. Unknown says:

    Hi,
     
    I just sent you a message, because my daughte was born 5 weeks early with all kinds of things wrong-Turner Syndrome,
    her PDA valve that is supposed to close in 45 minutes after birth, didn\’t close for 2 weeks, I know Charlie is strong and you and
    your husband will be even stronger, with God\’s love and prayers.  I am praying for sweet Charlie, and you and your husband
    daily.  I know he can make it through.  The MP3 player will do wonders, when my daughter was in the NICU, she was across from
    babies that were 1 pound (tiny tiny) and they had recordings of classical music plus they talked to their baby in the recording
    and the baby was out of the NICU in a short while and I happened to see the 1 pound baby at 1 year old and she was perfectly
    healthy and you could not even tell she was in the NICU when born.  The voices of you and your husband will really help
    Charlie to grow stronger each day.  That is an excellent idea, can\’t wait to hear the results and also if you feel up to it
    would love to see another picture of your precious baby.
     
    A faithful fan in Florida-Gwen and Ashley(age 10 and doing great)

  24. xenia lynn teresa says:

    Remember that God loves you and is taking care of your little Charlie, minute by minute.  Think also how close to God little Charlie is right at this moment. So innocent and pure. So sweet. His soul seeing the Truth of God. 

Leave a Reply

