Learning Along the Way

Things are slow today since it’s a Saturday.  Charlie is making minute progress, but we’ll take any progress we can get.  My personal goal is to get him off the ventilator, but no one’s even mentioned that–it’s just my own mini-goal.  Since there’s not much to report, I’ll share a few things I’ve learned in the last week.
 
  1. If you have to pump in the pumping center, you want the chair by the TV–otherwise, you may end up watching Ultimate Fighting Championship because someone else likes it.  Can you imagine trying to make milk to that?
  2. The Cafeteria makes the BEST brownines ever.  Chocolate, Butterfinger brownies–eating one of these make things a little better.  Just don’t have more than one. 
  3. The people who work in Children’s medicine are a unique breed.  They are loving, caring, amazing, and they never question that your child will grow up and give you fits when they’re a teenager. 
  4. The human spirit in all it’s glory will wow you.  I have never seen such generosity of spirit in my life.  Food, prayers, books, cd’s, flowers, visitors–all of these things have arrived at my doorstep, and if I started today I’d probably never finish repaying.
  5. Life goes on.  Today I was pleasantly surprised to hear Cyndi Lauper singing "Girls Just Want to Have Fun" on the radio.  I haven’t died.  I don’t have to mourn my son today because he is alive and breathing.  I can’t forget that too.

Appreciated all that you have.

Much Love,

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Learning Along the Way

  1. Shannon says:

    I came here by way of Mum\’s site and just want you to know that I am praying for you, your husband, and sweet little Charlie.  God has a plan and a purpose for that sweet baby of yours.  Thank you for sharing this difficult journey with us.
    Blessings to you,
    S

  2. g says:

    Glad things are looking stable.  I will pray for the ventilator to be removed and successful.
     
    g.j.

  3. Christi says:

    I am confident that your little man will get off that ventilator.  And I know what you mean about those NICU nurses – they are amazing in their faith and devotion.  I see you and the hub having many "victories" throughout the coming months from coming off the ventilator, to dressing Charlie in clothes, to actually having him eat the breastmilk rather than having a gavage and then even nursing (if you want to!).  I also see the day when you and hub will be the you know whats that get to take their baby home (you remember my story?)
     
    Take care.  Please keep updating us. 

  4. Stacy says:

    Katy,
     
    Just stopping by to check on Charlie\’s progress.  Glad to hear that things are still okay right now.  I too believe that in a few years you will be telling him all about how he gave you fits the first few days of his little life.  BTW, did I tell you how much I love the name Charlie?  It is one of my favorites.  Give him a little hug from all of us and let him know that we are all still praying for him.
     
    -S.

  5. barnyardmama says:

    Christi-  I do remember your story and keep it close to my heart. 
     
    KM

  6. tressie says:

    i am so very sorry to hear of your son fighting so hard.  My prayers will be with you sweetie – it\’s so amazing how, once they arrive, nothing else matters.  Please tell your sweetheart that i wish him a happy Father\’s Day – his first and – as you said – a wonderful one for your Charlie is alive and fighting.  tressie

  7. Le Chat Noir says:

    Hi Katy,
     
    Just dropping by…our darling friend Sherry is the common link. I am thinking of you and Charlie and your hub….take care…we are all thinking of you and hoping for the best. Sounds like Charlie is in the best of hands there but I\’m still thinking of you all.
     
    Kerrie

  8. kacky says:

    It has been a long time since I have been around reading/ blogging and I see how much I have missed.  You and your family are definietly in my prayers- all I can say is wow.  That is unimaginable and so hard.  I understand your needing/ wanting to blog- a thing you can do to get it out- no interruption and just a vent.  A place to put things and put them out there.  I admire your strength.  I will keep you and your family in my prayers.  Happy Father\’s Day to both you and your husband. 
    K
     

  9. Nooner™ says:

     
    TO: Charlie
     
    Welcome to the World!
    And heartiest congratualtions to your proud new parents.
     
    ~Nooner~
     
    Katy,
    I heard the news from others we know … And came to read back on each of the blogs since Charlie\’s birth.
    My prayers are with Charlie, you and Hub in these necessary healing and nurturing days.
    God bless. I\’ll be pulling for Charlie from afar.
     

  10. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Happy Father\’s Day to your wonderful husband!  Today is a very special day – his first father\’s day.  Charlie is a precious little boy, and God has a plan for his life.  Let\’s give thanks for every step forward, any little progress, because I know that God is working every second of the day.  Blessings to you all.

  11. Unknown says:

    Tell your husband a big Happy Father\’s Day, this will be a memory in a few short months.  Charlie is
    an awesome gift from God and has great plans for his life.  We continue praying and know Charlie will
    get stronger and stronger and get to go home in the future to two great parents!!
     
    Happy First Father\’s Day, Keep us posted and if you feel like it we would love to see one more
    photo of your precious Charlie.
     
    Faithful fan in Florida-Gwen and Ashley (10-born 5 weeks early Turner Syndrome-Doing Great now!)

  12. Christi says:

    HAPPY FIRST FATHER\’S DAY TO THE HUB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Christine says:

    Katy,
    It sounds like you have learned some really wonderful things this week.  I am sure you will learn somre things along the way.  Happy First Father\’s Day to your husband.  I pray that you don\’t lose sight of each other and the love you have for one another.  A child\’s illness can be stressful, and can take a toll.  Cherish each other as you are each other\’s best support system.  Praise God that Charlie is making progress.  I will continue to pray for you all.
     
    Much love,
    Christine

  14. Unknown says:

    I have read your blog on and off for over a year now.  I just stopped by today to see if you had your baby.  Charlie is absolutely a beautiful boy Katy!  I am a believer in the power of prayer Katy, I am living proof of it and the power of God.  Myself along with many others here will keep you and your family in my prayers and thoughts.  My words can not express the empathy I feel for someone I have never met – All of my thoughts, prayers, & love to you.

Leave a Reply

