Inching

Well, it’s two steps forward, one step back in intensive care.  Little Charlie continues to have heart arythmias that are easily fixed with a quick dose of medicine, but which bring the cavalry running every time he does it.  They’ve started him on an oral medication which will build up in his system over time, and should keep this from happening. 
 
 
 
I would think it’s obvious, but infants in ICU are drugged up pretty heavily.  That, with the swelling, has made seeing Charlie’s eyes very difficult.  Usuallly, only when they do a pupil check, and there were times when they couldn’t even get his eyes open for that.   Today, for about thirty seconds, he opened his eyes and looked into mine.  I cried like a baby.  
 
 
 
And just for father’s day. . .
 
The Hub wanted a chance to change Charlie’s diaper since that’s the sort of thing dad’s do, but we’ve completely missed out on.  Today he got his first chance, and while being given his lesson, Charlie pooped right on his hand!  Welcome to fatherhood, right?
 
Sorry to be one of those people who talks about their child’s poop–can’t say it won’t happen again, but I promise it won’t happen every day.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Inching

  1. Big Dog Mom says:

    Hi, Katy . . . I\’ve been away for a while and I\’m a little behind on life in the Barnyard.  My prayers and happy thoughts are with your beautiful little boy, you and Hubby.  Keep the faith.  I believe that Charlie will be pooping, peeing, and spiting up on you and Hub lots of times in the coming months.  Hugs and lots of love coming to you . . .

  2. Cindy says:

    You can talk about poop all you want….and anything else for that matter!! Besides, I think it\’s a rather charming first father\’s day gift! You can\’t get any more personal than that! LOL
    Take the smiles where you can get them right now….and hang in there. Charlie\’s a fighter!
    Hugs,
    Cin

  3. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Yeah, boy teenagers really give you fits.  I could have created an entire MSN space on that one between the two boys.  Your boy is beautiful, tubes, swollen eyes and all.  Hang in there!

  4. Jaysey says:

    Well, in this case I think you can talk about Charlie\’s poop–because that is just a funny and surprisingly heartwarming story. 😉  Oh–and it proves that little Charlie\’s got spunk!  Go, Charlie!

  5. xenia lynn teresa says:

    Memories are made of this…

  6. Joell says:

    Ahhh, the joys of your own child\’s poop…doesn\’t get much better than that!  🙂 
     
    You have an amazing perspective on things, the kind of perspective which will bring you, Hub and Charlie through this difficult time.  He is precious.  Hang in there. 
     
    Praying that God gives the docs and nurses the wisdom to know how to best treat Charlie.  Praying for strength and peace for all of you.  Big {{{HUGS}}} to you.
     
    Joell

  7. Stacy says:

    Katy,
     
    What a beautiful baby boy.  He almost looks like he is smiling.  I know it is probably the tube, but I think he is smiling for his picture.  Please tell the hub – Happy Father\’s Day (a day late) and welcome to Fatherhood.  It will probably not be the first time he gets some type of gross bodily fluid on him.  Just wait until Charlie throws up down your back – what a lovely warm feeling that is – NOT!   LOL
     
    Have a great day!
     
    -S.

  8. Tracy says:

    Awww, what a father\’s day present!!!  And I\’m so glad he opened his eyes and looked into yours, too sweet.  I\’m glad you are all hanging in there!!

  9. Antonella says:

    LOL!!That is a funny father\’s day present!!! You lk about Charlie\’sll you want, I fount very amuzing!!
     
    What color are Chaie\’s eyes???
     
    Has he used the mp3 player yet?? Can you see any reaction??
    HUGS,
    Antonella

  10. Antonella says:

    Whoops, typo, I meant CHARLIE!!!!!

  11. Sarah says:

    Sounds like the perfect father\’s day present!
     
    Glad to hear things are getting better, little by little.
     

  12. Carol says:

    Now that\’s some great father-son bonding.  Go Charlie!

  13. Elizabeth says:

    It\’s sounds like Charlie is asserting his place in the family!!! Way to go!!

  14. Nadine says:

    Here\’s to more poop in your life!!
    Sometimes it takes baby steps…Hang in there!!

  15. Ami says:

    My dad still talks about the day my sister was born. The first time he held her she pooped all over him! That first diaper change will be a story he\’s telling for decades. They\’re the beautiful battle scars that make a Dad proud! Glad things are coming along. Thanks for keeping us posted. We\’re all sending prayers and positive thoughts your way. You\’re being very strong, and I\’m sure that\’s an encouragement for anyone going through a struggle right now. Thanks for your beautiful personality and wonderful spirit.

  16. Lin says:

      HAPPY FATHERS DAY to the HUB…My Hubby is still talking about the first diaper changes on ours.& yes thats what they both did to him .Our son also peed all over him…Glad things are doing good.Keep you all in our thoughts & prayers always..Lin

  17. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Oh Katy, that entry brought a smile to my face…………Charlie pooping on his dad is a good sign, and a good father\’s day gift too:)  Charlie is a fighter and he will pull through!  Hang in there, and thanks sooooooooo much for these updates.  Hugs.

  18. Nora says:

    It is a bit ironic that you had to talk about poop, but completely understandable. LOL!  I am so happy for your family, and we keep praying for him. 

  19. Gina says:

    (Mannyed)
     
    What a guy! He\’s already giving gifts to his parents (eye gazing and poop!)!!  Give Charlie a little hug for me for his week old bday!

  20. siobhan says:

    Katy, I am so sorry that I haven\’t been by.  I am praying for Charlie and you and Hubby as I type this.  He will be fine, and pooping and peeing all over your house before you know it.  Wait until he figures out how to take off his own diaper and poops and/or pees in your living room.  Conor was doing that one for a while, it was driving me crazy.
    All the prayers and support that Robert and I have are headed your way
    ((((((HUGS)))))))
    Siobhan

  21. Leah says:

    you know, babies in China don\’t even wear diapers or anything. They just have a split in their pants, and get to let fly wherever and whenever they may…be it public, private…
     
    Quite the sight when it\’s 20 below and you see a small toddler resembling a snowman with his rear end hanging out.
     
    May Charlie have many more poops.

  22. K says:

    honey…. hearing about Charlie pooping in your hubby\’s hand made this single and childless chick giggle… what beautiful news!!!  What a cute father\’s day gift… one that can be shared and laughed over in years to come!
    Be strong… keep doing what your doing… Just know many of us are here supporting you and sending prayers of love and hope to you all…!!
     
    (((hugs)))
    KC

  23. Christine says:

    Well, Charlie was so very thoughtful..he didn\’t want to soil the new diaper Dad was going to put on, so he just put it in Dad\’s hand.  What a sweet boy!  🙂
     
    My prayers continue to be with you.
     
    Lord,
    Please give the doctors and nurses wisdom in caring for Charlie.  Give his parents good rest, Lord, that when the lie down, each hour will be as restful as 2.  You know the needs of Your servants, Lord, and Your servants have the gift of faith that You will provide and this situation will be to Your glory.
     
    Amen.

  24. CJ says:

    OMG!  YOU HAD YOUR BABY!  Woo Hoo!  Yay!  Where the heck is my email?????  Charlie?  You named him Charlie?  I love  it!  I\’m just bubbling over here!  And yes, Charlie DOES have spunk!  Congrats to you and hubby and happy father\’s day to hubby too!  Woo Hoo! (doing happy dance)

  25. CJ says:

    I want you to know that I am lifting  you all up in prayer.  I believe in miracles too and I have a very strong faith in God.  My prayers are with you and yours…give that little one a big cyber hug for me!  (hugs)

  26. Unknown says:

    He is a very precious beautiful little boy.  Know a lot of people are praying for precious Charlie, you and
    your husband.  He is lucky to have you all as parents, and I can\’t wait to hear what you are playing
    on the MP3 player for him.  It really will help, since I know when my daughter was in the NICU, I could
    only stay for 15 minutes every few hours.  So all the time you are not there, he will hear his mom
    and dad saying things to him, plus hearing wonderful music! 
     
    Take care, you all are very strong and will make it through this bump in the road!
     
    Gwen

  27. Lizzie-Beth4Him says:

    KM,
     
    Fervently praying for Charlie, and you and your husband!  Nice to read about his Father\’s Day gift to dad…lol.
     
    Beth

  28. Unknown says:

    I can\’t believe I\’ve missed all of this, I neglected blogging for a week or two. Charlie is sooooooo sweet!!  What a cutie pie.I\’ll be praying for you guys – hang in there and try to remember that God is in control.  (I know…easier said than done)God bless 🙂

  29. Betsy says:

    Just returning from vacation and catching up…praying for you and your precious beautiful baby boy, Charlie.  If he got an ounce of his mama\’s spunk that\’s what\’s keeping him going against odds.  Glad you\’re able to find some humor too in all you have going on.  I\’ll never forget the day my cousin was showing off as a big proud papa at my grandparents by changing diapers and his baby (also named Charlie) peed all over him!

  30. Gina says:

    Just stopping in again to let you know I\’m thinking of you all.

  31. siobhan says:

    Just wanted to let you know that I am thinking of you and praying for your little one.  I hope that all is continuing to improve and that you will be able to bring Charlie home soon.

  32. Tiffany says:

    Katy – he is such a sweet little boy!  That story is hilarious!  I will have to share Britt\’s story.  The nurses in the NICU made him change Baylee\’s diaper all by himself.  They made me go in the room and told him to get with it!  It was hilarious!!!!  You will have many more memories just like that one to share… and it doesn\’t matter if you talk about it everyday!  You are a PROUD mommy and that\’s awesome.  I still come to work every morning and share cute Baylee stories with them.  They share their stories as well!
    GO CHARLIE GO!  😉
     
    Big Hugs to you!
    Tiffany

  33. kacky says:

    HA  love it.  way to go Charlie.  🙂  too funny.  just stopping by to check in and let you know you are in my prayers.
    k
     

Leave a Reply

