Charlie Kicks

Charlie has been kicking complete butt this week.  Unfortunately, Dad is back to work and I’m exausted–midnight "feedings" with the Medela pump, and multiple visits to the hospital leave me with very little sleep time.   But I’m definitely over-due on an update.  I’ll list:
 
They took him off most of his sedatives to see if he could breathe on his own.  He is breathing on his own, but has backup support from a ventilator.  The ventilator is scheduled to come out tomorrow which is HUGE.  But, a lot of kids bounce back and forth before they come off the ventilator completely, so we’re trying to be optomistic, but not get too disappointed if it doesn’t work the first time. 
 
They’ve taken out his catheter.
 
They’ve got him on an oral medication to control his SVT (the condition that got us here in the first place).
 
They’ve taken him off his medication to aid heart function, and he seems to be doing well without it.
 
They’ve taken him off most of his diaretics, and he’s still peeing and pooping. 
 
They’re going to start weaning him off of the "relaxation" medication that he’s still on.
 
They’ve increased the amount of feeds they’re giving him.
 
 
All these good signs are pointing to a day when we will move to what is called the "step-down" area.  In that area, you actually live in the hospital and learn how to care for your child yourself.  A nurse aids you, but in the end she leaves and you just live there the way you would in your house.  Twice, the step-down unit has been mentioned.  I know ICU is a slow road, but it’s nice to hear progress being mentioned.
 
Of course, then I think about taking him home myself, and start hyperventilating.  Maybe I could borrow that venitlator Charlie’s not using?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Charlie Kicks

  1. Della says:

    I am so happy to hear of Charlie\’s progress.  I\’ve been thinking about you guys every day and checking eagerly for updates.  Charlie is adorable, thanks for the new pictures! 
    How nice that they have the step-down area, that will help the transition.  I bet that will help you to feel much more confident when you take him home.  I will keep him in my thoughts!!

  2. Joell says:

    Can you see my BIG OLE grin from where you are??!  I am so excited reading your report today!!  Your miracle is happening before your very eyes.  Wonderful news.  So happy for all of you.  GO Charlie…you show them how it\’s done, buddy!  Try to take care of yourself and rest when you can.  Charlie will need a healthy mama to take care of him WHEN he comes home! 😀
     
    Thanks for sharing!!  I\’ll keep praying for all of you! 

  3. Ami says:

    Great news! I\’ll keep sending prayers for continued success.

  4. Nora says:

    Great news!  What kind of shoes have you got for him? I vote for cowboy boots so he can keep kicking butt!

  5. Shannon says:

    Oh what fabulous news!  I\’ve been praying heavily for you and for sweet Charlie and check constantly for updates.  It sounds like Charlie is truly a little fighter! 
     
    Blessings to you,
    S

  6. Becca says:

    That is the most wonderful news! Keep fighting Charlie! You are a strong, strong boy! You will be home and raising cain for your momma and daddy for years to come!
    Hugs,
    Becca
    http://escape-for-a-sec.blogspot.com/

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Way to go Charlie!!! Keep fighting!!  🙂  🙂  🙂

  8. Christi says:

    That boy is one tough cookie!!! Can you believe the strides he has made in such a short time!  Before you know if you will be in the step-down area!   That is so amazing.  I agree with Della – I have been checking eagerly for new updates!  I think of you three often as well – and I can\’t wait to hear how he progresses with all of the big changes in his life!  I love the pictures!  It is so nice to see him – he is adorable and amazing.  Hang in there tired new mommy!

  9. Unknown says:

    Small steps!!  Woo Hoo!!  Just keep taking one day at a time, but with each day shows a little improvement.  He looks like a fighter and with all of our prayers he will continue to kick some butt!!!  As always prayers…..L

  10. Antonella says:

    I\’m so happy that Charlie is making progress!!! I used to have to do "feedings" with the Medela because Dante wouldn\’t eat, I know how stressful that is and I can only imagine how exhausted you must be. I know it\’s hard but try to get some rest. Hopefully when you get to that step down area, Charlie will be a good eater and you\’ll need your energy!
    You are so strong and you will look back one day and wonder how the hell you did it!
    I\’m praying that Charlie will continue being a strong little boy,
    HUGS,
    Antonella

  11. Sheryl-Ann says:

    I am very excited to hear that Charlie is progressing well.  Little by little, he will finish the race – he is a tough guy!  He\’s your miracle baby, and we are all very proud of his fighting spirit.  The good thing also is that your sense of humor hasn\’t deserted you……………….so don\’t forget the ventilator (smile).

  12. Marsha says:

    He\’s absolutely beautiful!  I love his little dimpled hands.  Hang in there!  Prayers are coming your way down 540.

  13. Unknown says:

    Katy,
     
    This is great news.  I am glad Charlie is doing so well.  He is so precious and sweet.  He is
    a fighter and you can know you and your husband will be very proud when he is put in the step down
    unit and then sent home with two awesome parents.  We continue praying for Charlie and you and
    your husband.  Have a great weekend, try to get a little rest, I know it is next to impossible, but hopefully
    this weekend maybe you will get a tiny bit of rest.  Thanks for the wonderful update!  That is the
    best news we have heard all week.
     
    Gwen

  14. Tracy says:

    Wow, I\’m sooo happy to hear he\’s making such great progress. Yay!!!  And how encouraging that they keep talking about the step-down unit.  So happy for you, even though I know it\’s still a long road ahead.
    Thanks for making it by my space, sorry you had to make it by on the day I was totally loopy, lol!

  15. Christine says:

    Oh, Katy,
    All I can say is PRAISE GOD!!!!!  I will continue to pray for your littl family and continued healing inyour little fellow.
     
    In Christ,
    Christine

  16. Sarah says:

    I\’m sooo happy to hear that Charlie has made such great progress!!! I\’m so weirdly emotional this week that I have tears in my eyes right now. I\’m so happy for you and your family!

  17. g says:

    Happy to hear about little Charlie\’s progress.  Yipppeee!  My prayers and thoughts are with you always. 
     
    g.j.

  18. Betsy says:

    He\’s absolutely precious and he is definitely a champ!  Hope things continue to progress in the right direction.  You\’ll do wonderful when you bring him home…don\’t worry about that for a minute.

  19. Nadine says:

    Woo Hoo…we are making progress. Deep Breath!! You can do it!!
    I have faith in you.
     
    Hugs!

  20. Gina says:

    GO CHARLIE GO! Keep kicking butt!
     
    Take good care of yourself so you can keep fighting right there with Charlie.  Sending good vibes and good thoughts your way. 

  21. Sabrina says:

    I send you my prayers every day and every day, I come by hoping there is good news…Go Charlie, keep kicking butt!! And don\’t worry, you will do fine when he finally gets to go home!

  22. BP says:

    My have I\’ve been remiss.  I read your initial post about Charlie been born, but I must have been in a cloud because for some reason I thought you were writing in the past.  I just now got caught up on everything in my gosh of you, your husband, and Charlie been through a lot in such a short amount of time.
    I will keep you in my prayers and check on the progress more often.With love,Billy

  23. Cindy says:

    *Go, Charlie!*
    *Go, Charlie!*
    *Go, Charlie!*
    So glad to hear he\’s doing so well! He\’ll be home before you know it! And quit worrying! You\’ll do just fine!

  24. Unknown says:

    enter (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (wow gold) are cheap, (wow power leveling) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words directly to the website click on transactions!

  25. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of advertising displays, advertising player and LCD displays. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[aahbihiceahahf]

  26. Unknown says:

    (wow power leveling) And (wow gold) under the single-site, preferential policies!

  27. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -40625296899095

  28. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCDs, used flat screens and secondhand LCDs? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels and working for LCD recycling.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[gebfggddgihfjd]

Leave a Reply

