Prayer Request

Charlie’s tube came out and he did great–they were quickly decreasing his oxygen and he was breathing great on his own.  Only one problem: his blood pressure has gone up again.  At first, they thought it was just from the procedure, but many doses of drugs later, they realize that it must be something else. 
 
This took us to the exciting world of nuerology.  An ultrasound and a CT scan revealed that there is no pressure building up in his brain.  Fluid is draining into his ventricles properly, but there it seems to be getting stuck. 
 
I knew we’d have to work on the brain stuff–I just didn’t know it would be so soon.  They may be putting in a monitor tomorrow to monitor pressure in the brain.  If the fluid doesn’t begin to drain by next week, we could be looking at having a drain put in the base of his skull.
 
They have done so many invasive things to my baby, but this is just a lot to swallow.  The fluid could resolve itself on its own–it may not.  So. . . prayers, please!  Pray for healing, and if I can’t have healing, then pray for successful procedures.  Little Charlie has gone this far–I know he can keep it up. 
 
Oh. . . and I didn’t make this clear, but they have no idea why his blood pressure is going up–big mystery–but they put him on a drip in the mean time.  Pray for my boy, Ok?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Prayer Request

  1. Unknown says:

    I will continue to pray for precious Charlie and you and your husband.  It is a lot to go through, but
    it is amazing how strong babies are and how they can do a lot better than we think they can do at
    such a stressful time for all.  Charlie is so precious and like everyone says-God has great plans for
    Charlie, I know it is frustrating and exhausting, but they are great in the NICU and Charlie will
    get stronger each day.  Just having wonderful parents like you, will make him so strong, and he is
    so beautiful, keep sending the pictures, I know everyone loves seeing your precious baby.
     
    I say prayers for you and your family throughout the day, because I realize from first hand experience
    how scary it is to have a baby in the NICU. 
     
    You all are doing very well.  Charlie will get through this next little hurdle.  God put him on this earth
    for big plans and he is going to get him through everything that goes on while he is in the NICU
     
    God bless you, your husband and your wonderful son Charlie,
     
    Gwen

  2. Becca says:

    You have all my prayers and well wishes for Charlie. Keep on fighting and I am hoping for only the best!
    Blessings,
    Becca
    http://escape-for-a-sec.blogspot.com

  3. Lin says:

     I am sending up the prayers for Charlie,You & Hub…May GOD be with you all & bless you.May he give you all strength.Keep the news coming about your beautiful Baby BOY…Take care Lino

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Big hugs and big prayers for Charlie.  We\’re here with you, KM.

  5. Unknown says:

    As Charlie has been he will continue to be in my prayers.  In fact Sunday at church I will ask to add him to our prayer chain.  We could all use as many as we can get here.
    Take care
    L

  6. Joell says:

    Katy-
    Praying for you all.  Your sweet boy is so beautiful.  Take it one thing at the time. I hope you don\’t mind, but I was reminded of a passage in the Bible I wanted to share with you…maybe you can hang on to it when you need to.  Gwen\’s comment made me think of it. 
     
    Jeremiah 29:11 
    For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
     
    God has plans for Charlie, for you and the Hub!  Plans to give you hope and a future.  Hang in there!  Thanks so much for keeping us in the know. 
    Thinking of you!

  7. Shannon says:

    Praying for you three- especially for sweet little Charlie!  God has great things in store for that precious little boy!
     
    Blessings to you,
    S 🙂

  8. Antonella says:

    First of all, let me just say, Charlie is a very handsome little boy!!! I hope that the fluid drains by itself and he doesn\’t need any procedure done and I hope that his blood pressure normalizes. You guys are always in my thoughts and prayers.
    HUGS for you and the hub and a big kiss for Charlie,
    Antonella

  9. KENT says:

    We\’re still with you here, we haven\’t quit praying for him and for you and the hub since your first request.  God Bless!  🙂 Kent

  10. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I am definitely praying.  I have everyone I know praying as well.  I know it is nerve racking, the thought of taking him home.  I struggled with my first at 18.  I was a basket case and he had no issues.  Then 9 years later when I had my second at 28 I was still a nervous wreck.  I could tell you stories that would make you laughed til you peed your pants.  By the time I brought number 3 home I was a seasoned pro. 

  11. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi Katy, I am still praying for Charlie, as well as all the members of my cell group at church.  We are praying for complete healing for your little boy.  We know he is a fighter, and he will get passed this latest obstacles.  Blessings to Charlie, you, your hub and your entire family.  Stay strong and keep the faith!  Hugs.

  12. g says:

    Still praying for you.  Little Charlie sure is adorable…tubes and all.  It sounds  like he  is taking one step at a time. Baby steps.
     
    g.j.

  13. Sarah says:

    Sorry to hear there was a setback. I\’ll be praying for you guys. Have faith!

  14. Tracy says:

    You got it.  So sorry to hear about the setback, but I am sure Charlie will pull thru this just like he has everything else.  I just wish there was something I could do for you, so let me know if there is OK?! 

  15. Christine says:

    Dear Lord,
    Lay your healing touch on little Charlie. You are the Great Physician.  Guide the doctors as they treat him, fill them with wisdom.  Give peace to Katy and her husband as they deal with yet another medical situation with their little one.  In Jesus\’ name I pray.
     
    Amen.

  16. Jaysey says:

    Lighting the candle again…go, Charlie, go!

  17. Unknown says:

    Yep, not a problem!  I will continue to pray for Charlie – and you and hubby as well.  Hang in there.God bless 🙂

  18. Nora says:

    No problem, I will pray his little body contingues to grow and heal, and for you and hubby too.

  19. K says:

    Charlie is sooo beautiful Katie!!!
    Prayers for healing and success… done.
     
    Take care of yourself Katie… you too are in my prayers… I think of you all often when I think my burdens are too much to handle… and then I remember…. Be strong!
     
    Much love,
    KC

  20. Siobhan says:

    His progress has been remarkable, I am so proud of that beautiful little boy!  I mentioned your situation to my husband and he said he will add you all to his prayers tonight too.  Hang in there, keep strong and take care of yourself.

  21. Lorena says:

    I will pray for you. All of you are in my thoughts. I don\’t usually pray so I will borrow Cristine\’s prayer. I\’ll be sending you positive energy and love.

  22. Stacy says:

    Katy,  I was away for the weekend at a conference so I am just getting here.  I am so glad for the "ups" you have had in the last few days.  I pray that the "downs" become more far and few as the days progress.  He sure seems like a little fighter, I imagine you wil have you hands full in a few years.
     
    Love & Prayers.
    -S.

  23. Christine says:

    Katy,
    I was thinking of you at church this morning.  These are quotes taken from the Bible readings for the day.  May they bring you comfort.
     
    Jeremiah 1:5
    "Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you. 
    Before you were born I dedicated you,
    a prophet to the nations I appointed you."
     
    Luke 1:66
    "All who heard these things took them to heart, saying, \’What then will this child be?\’
    For surely the hand of the Lord was with him.
     
    Isaiah 49:1
    "Hear me, O coastlands,
      listen, O distant peoples,
    The Lord called me from birth,
      from my mother\’s womb he gave me
        my name."
     
     
     
     

  24. siobhan says:

    Robert and I are praying for all of you and especially Charlie.  He\’s a fighter and God willing you will be able to take him home soon.
    (((((((HUGS)))))))))
    and love
    Siobhan

  25. Hollie says:

    Katy you and Charlie are in my prayers. what a cutie! and it seems to me that God was getting you ready to have a very special child and that is what you have.

Leave a Reply

