Home at Last

What She Wore: boxers, a t-shirt.


Well, I am finally home.  After two and a half weeks of living in a hospital, and one minor surgery, Charlie and his mommy and daddy have come home.  I’m a momma with a newborn son, but there is so much more than that.
 
Some days I have hope.   Other days I don’t.  I have moments where I cry, and I have wonderful moments too.  By all accounts, Charlie should not be alive.  But he is.  What his future holds, I have no idea.  What I do know is that I’ve got one helluva ride ahead of me.  Expect lots of Charlie, but also expect Katy as well.  As always, this site has been a place where I can let it all hang out. 
 
Thanks for all the well-wishes and prayers.  I’ll be trying to sneak some blog time in now that I’m finally home.
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Home at Last

  1. Sabrina says:

    I am so happy that the three of you have made it home! I am so happy to hear that. I am still praying that Charlie keeps doing better and that you guys will prosper and thrive! Congratulations on this big step! Way to go Charlie!!

  2. Cindy says:

    I\’m so happy for you all!!
    Throughout all of this not only did Charlie\’s strength, will and courage inspire me, but yours did as well. I can\’t imagine walking one step in the shoes you\’ve had to wear for the past five weeks, let alone a mile!
    One helluva ride ahead, yes, but the important thing to remember is that no matter what the future holds, you and your hubby have already proven you have what it takes to get through it!
    Hugs,
    Cindy
    P.S. I\’m looking forward to all the mom stories and more pictures of Charlie, too!

  3. Antonella says:

    OMG Katy, you got me all teary, I\’m so happy for you!! I\’m sure you have a lot ahead of you, but it must be such a relief to be out of the hospital with your little guy. Just make sure you take care of yourself too. You have one strong little man there, God bless him. You guys are always in my prayers.
    HUGS,
    Antonella
    PS- I love what your wearing, post-Dante, boxes and tank tops are all I wear(I use tanks for the easy boob access!)

  4. Kathleen says:

    Congratulations on the home-coming!  You and Charlie and hubby continue to be in my prayers. 
    Love,
    Kathleen

  5. Unknown says:

    Katy,
     
    I am so happy that precious Charlie is home with both of you now.  Yes, you do have lots ahead,
    but God gave you Charlie because he knows you and your husband are up to the awesome
    challenge to rasie Charlie.  Believe me I had those days with my daughter after NICU, but when
    people said God gave you Ashley for a reason, I got a lot of hope from that.  Please get some Katy
    time when you can, that will help!  God bless you, your husband and precious fighter Charlie!!
     
    Can\’t wait to see some more pictures of your precious son!!! 
     
     
    Take care,
     
    Gwen

  6. Stacy says:

    WOO-HOO!!!!!
     
    Congrats on bringing Charlie home.  I am so happy and excited for you.  God has plans for that little guy!!
     
    -S.

  7. Dawn says:

    I was so glad to read this post.  Yes it will be quite a ride…but as you already know worth every minute you get to spend with your precious charlie.  I can\’t wait to hear all of your stories.  If anyone can do this, it\’s you and the hubs. 

  8. Nadine says:

    Wooo Hooo!!! I am so very happy for you!! I expect pictures…..lots of pictures!!!
     
    When My daughter went thru this…she didn\’t get to take her baby home.
     A horrible ordeal to go thru!
    Two years later she is now the proud momma a beautiful baby boy!
     
    Count each day as a blessing.
     
    Hugs!!

  9. Jaysey says:

    Welcome home!

  10. Jen says:

    YAY!!!  I\’m SO happy to hear this news, Katy!!  I look forward to the full update on how he\’s doing ALONG WITH the pictures that you\’ve already promised us.  I haven\’t left you comments during this whole ordeal, but DO KNOW that I have prayed and prayed for you!!!
     
    ~Jen from Wyoming

  11. Sarah says:

    That\’s amazing that you\’re all home! I\’m so excited for you. You guys are going to do great!

  12. Unknown says:

    I am so excited to hear that you are home!  That is wonderful….Charlie is such a strong boy!  Keep us updated.  I have been praying for you!
    Suzanne

  13. Christine says:

    Priaise God!  Welcome hom eto you and to Charlie!
     
    Christine
     

  14. Betsy says:

    Congratulations…hope all continues to go well.  I couldn\’t help but notice what she wore…boxers and a t-shirt.  Maybe you should update to what Charlie wore since baby clothes are so darn cute 🙂

  15. Aimee says:

    well i am just so happy to hear that you are all home…it seems that i came back from my vacation just in time to hear the news…
    *~* :o) smiles are contagious… :o) so pass one on … :o) soon the whole world will be smiling… :o) *~*

  16. g says:

    Congratulations on the home coming.  My prayers and thoughts are with you always.
     
    g.j.

  17. siobhan says:

    Congratulations on your homecoming.  I know that you have days where you must be terrified, I did when we brought Conor home, and we didn\’t have any of the trials that you have had.  I believe in my heart that everything is going to be just fine.  Children are amazingly resilient and I have a feeling that Charlie is going to surprise everyone.  How could he not with so many people around the country and the world praying for him?
    As always, you\’re all in my prayers
    Hugs
    Siobhan

  18. Nora says:

    I am so happy for your family.  Please keep us updated as you can.

  19. Tiffany says:

    I\’m SO happy for you guys!  I can totally relate to having some of those feelings.  Even though Baylee was "normal" and still is today… she was so tiny and was on a heart/breathing monitor until she was 6 months old. 
     
    I\’m continuing to pray for you and little Charlie… and the Hubs as well!  You will go through a roller-coaster of emotions and it\’s OK to do so!
     
    Big Hugs to you and your family!
    Tiffany

  20. KENT says:

    Congratulations!  I\’m glad you all made it home.  I\’ve been looking every day for an update, and continue with the prayers for you and your family.  🙂  Kent

  21. Carol says:

    I\’m so happy that you and Charlie are home.  What good news!  Katy, I dread what I may hear when I open the window to your site, but time after time Charlie comes through with a pleasant surprise and inspiration.   He\’s come through once again as he has day after day.  Thet boy is a fighter. 

  22. Hollie says:

    WooHoo! Welcome Home! I can certainly understand not knowing what lies ahead with Charlie but you have been given a gift of a miracle child, a fighter, and as the mom of one I so understand all the emotions you must be going thru. You all will be in my prayers.

  23. Hilary says:

    I am SO glad you are able to be home..hopefully now you can start building your routines and everything now that you\’re home…good luck Katy, I am so excited to hear that things are going well…

  24. Leah says:

    Happy for you!!

  25. Lin says:

      Congrats to all 3 of you.The tears are normal.For the ordeal you have went through as well as being a new MOM.Just let them go when you need you will feel better for it.You,Hub & little Charlie will always be in my prayers.Lin

  26. Unknown says:

    Well welcome home!  Congrats!!!!  You\’ll be in my prayers!God bless 🙂

  27. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Welcome home, Charlie!  I am really happy after having read this entry.  I wish you and your Hub all the strength in the world as you take each day one at a time.  Cry when you must, but always remember that we are praying for baby Charlie.  Some days will be hard, but take hope from your miracle boy.  God bless you all!

  28. Christine says:

    Hey Katy,
    How about some pictures of your handsome young fella?
     
    I hope you are well.
     
    Christine

  29. Joell says:

    Welcome home to all three of you!!  Congrats and can\’t wait to hear more about how things are going.  Thinking of you as you adjust to being at home.  Hang in there!!
     
     

  30. Tracy says:

    So glad to hear you made it home!  Hope your first weekend home went well!!

  31. Gina says:

    (Mannyed)
    That IS THE BEST NEWS EVER! I could cry just knowing that the family is at home!  What a beautiful thought! I still continue to wish all of you the best.  Thanks for keeping us updated on Charlie!  Looking forward to reading more about Katy and Charlie!

  32. KEL says:

    I am so happy to hear that you all have made it home…congratulations on the giant step.  Charlie is an amazing little boy, keep hanging in there–one never really knows what the future holds in store for them–and remember you\’ve always got a group of friends here to lend you whatever support/encouragement/outlet you need.Welcome HOME!!!~K

  33. Antonella says:

    Is Charlie starting to figure out that nights are for sleeping?? It doesn\’t really matter though, even though Dante sleeps through the night, I don\’t..you always check on them just to make sure they\’re ok!
     
    How\’s the feeding going? I assume since you guys are home that he\’s able to eat ok? Like everyone else has said I can\’t wait to see the pics, I\’m sure he\’s getting more and more handsome!
    HUGS,
    Antonella

Leave a Reply

