Uh, hello?

What She Wore: grey running pants, purple t-shirt that says "I Love NOLA"


My brother reminded me to update this place.  I’ve been spending a lot of time on Midnight feedings, sneaking in naps here and there, and doing online research on Charlie issues.   I’ve found some great blogs out there from parents going through the same things, and that’s been a real reassurance.  Ain’t the internet great?
 
Last night the Hub and I went out to dinner while his mother watched Charlie.  The Hub pointed out that I smiled.  Slowly but surely, the Hub and I are figuring out a new version of normalcy.  Having children will always change you–Charlie just comes with his own special bag of craziness.  And I had a realization–I’m going to be OK.  I will cry.  I will be angry.  I will have days where I don’t think I can do this.  But I will be OK.  I will laugh again.  And smile.  I’ll be able to watch the Tigers on TV and go out to lunch.  My life is not over.  True,  I have a lot to digest, and my fears about the future are huge, but I know this too–life goes on.   
 
KM
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Uh, hello?

  1. Jaysey says:

    Amen!  Life goes on, and in Gloria Gaynor\’s words, "I will survive!"

  2. Joell says:

    First, Charlie is beautiful!!!  Look at those big wonderful eyes looking around!  WOW!
    Second, what an amazing revelation you\’ve had today!  I\’m glad you are letting yourself go to dinner with your hubby!  And letting grandma have special time with Charlie.  Your life will go on.  Because of Charlie, you will find things in life to celebrate that most people overlook every day.  Chin up! 
     
    🙂

  3. Joell says:

    BTW, house hunting went well and we found a place!  Hopefully, I\’ll find some time to blog about it–soon.  And YES, it was exhausting! 🙂
     
     

  4. Karla says:

    Seriously Katy, he is just too freaking cute. I can\’t decide if he looks more like your side or the other side of the family. Love ya girly.

  5. Unknown says:

    OMG!  He is sooo beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. WINDOW LIVE says:

    Oh he is such a doll!  I mean he really looks like a living baby doll.  I am glad you got out!  You hang in there!  Thanks for the well wishes.

  7. Nora says:

    He is adorable!  I hope you don\’t give me baby fever!

  8. Antonella says:

    Katy he is absoultey adorable!!! Doesn\’t it feel good to get out?? Give Charlie a great big kiss for me!!
    Hope you have a great weekend,Antonella

  9. Unknown says:

    Katy,
     
    Charlie is beautiful!  Thanks for showing us some pictures.  Also, I am glad you got
    to get out for awhile.  You are very lucky to have such a precious son.
     
    Gwen

  10. Tracy says:

    Awwwwwwwww, he is so cute!!!  Glad you were able to get out for a bit with the Hub, I am sure that was good for you.  Hang in there, you\’re right life does go on!

  11. Unknown says:

    You are so right.  And what a great attitude to have!Charlie is sooooooooooo cute!!God bless 🙂

  12. Sarah says:

    That\’s great that you two got to get out for a little while for something "normal". Most new moms need a break, but I think you really deserve one! I\’m glad that you found some blogs of people that are going through similar things. I bet it\’s reassuring to know that you\’re not the only ones going through this.
     
    He\’s adorable!! 🙂

  13. Della says:

    Charlie is one ADORABLE baby boy!   I am so glad everything is progressing, and I am selfishly happy you are continuing to update when you can!

  14. g says:

    Charlie is so handsome and looks so alert! What beautiful eyes he has!!  So glad you are having some normalacy!  Prayers are with you.
     
    Always,
     
    g.j.

  15. KEL says:

    Take it one day at a time and eventually it will not be so hard.  Charlie looks so good, I am amazed at his progress in the short time you\’ve blogged about it.  It truly is a miracle and you truly are a blessed woman!Take care,  (and yes, you will one day know "normalcy" again, if not just a little differently)~K

  16. Tiffany says:

    Hey sweetie… I\’m glad to hear that you are getting out and doing things!  Charlie is SO CUTE!  Keep updating us and keep the pictures coming!  Just hang in there and know that everyone is continuing to pray for your family and for Charlie!
     
    We love you!
    Tiffany 

  17. Kathleen says:

    Thanks for the update – on you and hubby and Charlie too.  He is gorgeous!  I am still praying for you guys.
    Kathleen 

  18. Cindy says:

    Firstly, What a handsome little man!! Thanks for posting those gorgeous pictures!
     
    Secondly, I personally think "normal" is over-rated. What is normal anyway? Life differs from person to person and circumstance to circumstance. Your life has changed drastically and you\’re still adjusting to everything….and doing a phenomenal job of it, I\’d say!
    Of course you\’re going to cry, be angry at the world, and have doubts ~ you are human after all. You do the best you can at any given moment – no one can ask any more than that from themselves or anyone else. You\’re going to have good days, bad days, in-between days….but once in a while fantastic days too!
    Absolutely you will be okay ~ I never doubted it for a minute!

  19. Christine says:

    It sounds like you are a pretty normal new mom.  Even a baby without health issues will cause a new mom to stop and think about life changing and going on.  God is showing you strengths you were unaware of in yourself.  Your little boy is very cute, BTW!  Live each and every minute to the fullest, and don\’t be afraid.  Remember, in the saddest, most difficult times in your life, it is then that God carries you.
     
    Still in my thoughts and prayers.
     
    Christine
    justpoo65.blogspot.com
     

  20. Jennifer says:

    I bet someone else going through the same things will find your blog someday and find comfort. You\’ve written about things so honestly and with such hope. It\’s just awesome. :)I\’m glad you got away and relaxed, even if only for a bit. Sounds like you needed it, even though I bet it was hard to tear yourself away from that adorable face!

  21. Hollie says:

    glad you could get out for a wee bit and smile! That is so very important. I so know what the fear factor is like, been there done that and now have become quite content knowing that I can t know everything that God has in store.  

  22. Stacy says:

    Katy,
     
    Charlie is beautiful and looks perfect no matter what.
     
    -S. 

  23. Sheryl-Ann says:

    Hi Katy!  Your little boy is absolutely lovely!  I know it must be hard but I am happy that you realize that you are going to be ok.  Some days will be easier than others, but you have a little boy to be strong for and I know you have the strength and the faith to be there for him.  You are an awesome person and an awesome mom!  The idea of going back to school/teaching sounds like a good plan.  It might do you, Charlie and everyone the world of good.  Take care and hang in there.  Hugs.

  24. K says:

    I can only imagine how challenging things are at the moment… but thank goodness you have a great support system and a loving husband who is there to make you smile!!!  Baby C is adorable…. no matter which way tomorrow works out… he\’s already taught you so much about unconditional love and given you trumendous strength.  That is indeed a wonderful gift!!!
     
    (((hugs)))
    KC

  25. Jaysey says:

    Hope everything is going ok! 

  26. Sandra says:

    Charlie is a little beauty 🙂
    it is so long since I have been around your space ,I saw your url on Christines & thought I would pay a visit & see what had been happening …congratulations on having Charlie ..
    praying that he will soon be strong and healthy  
     
    *blessings*
     
    sandra

  27. Hilary says:

    AHH!!!  He\’s beautiful!!!  I love those big eyes! Congratulations Katy, you are A MOM!!!!  Yeah!  I hope you can keep on smiling! 😀

  28. CJ says:

    Just poking in to see how Charlie and family are doing.  I\’ve missed your blogs and I admire your strength.  Lots of hugs to the wee one, he\’s just adorable.  Keeping you all in my prayers! 

Leave a Reply

