Love it or Hate it

What She Wore:Navy blue skirt with white polka dots; white tee; red, white, and blue strappy slides with a wedge heel. 


 Things I Hate:
  1. That I never seem to get to this blog since my child wants to be held ALL the time.  With my husband still in Arkansas I’ve got 24/7 baby duty. 
  2. When people say, "so Charlie is going to be Ok now, right?"  I mean, his heart failed and he had a stroke.  It’s a ridiculous question.  We will love him no matter what, but you don’t go through all that and then just come home like nothing happened.  Trust me, he will be GREAT, but it’s going to take some work.  Worse yet, when I tell people he’s doing wonderful other than a tremor in his arms (he has a very exaggerated baby tremor), they act all horrified.  Considering our options, I’ll take a tremor any day of the week–it could be so much worse. 
  3. That I have to find a new church.  My church in Arkansas was SO wonderful.  So wonderful that this former late-night gal would get up for nine o’clock service.  So wonderful that church wasn’t a chore.  So wonderful that replacing it will be no easy task. 

Things I Love:

  1. Driving around all the historic neighborhoods that make New Orleans what it is.
  2. That Charlie’s great-grandpa will get to see him today
  3. That my friends and family are so close
  4. The Early Intervention Coordinator came by and talked about how good Charlie looked.  I know he’s behind on some stuff, but at least he’s not a lost cause. 
  5. Gramps is buying lunch today.  Nothing like free food!
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Love it or Hate it

  1. Dawn says:

     great grandpa\’s are a wonderful thing…family is a wonderful thing….
    good luck with the church thing.

  2. Shelly says:

    Take lots and lots and even more photos of the family together.  Sending prayers to you and your family.  I\’m so happy to hear that things are going well for you!  Take care and give that lil man a hug from this Michigan Gal!!  ttfn
     

  3. Jaysey says:

    At least the loves outweigh the hates. 

  4. Nadine says:

     Don\’t be too rough on the others….remember they are just now getting to see and be around Charlie. And They will see just how great he is. Don\’t sweat the other….he will develope fine. He had a rough start but I just know he will catch up! 
     I am so happy you are back in your home town!

  5. Antonella says:

    I\’m so happy that there are more good things than bad.  That\’s so great that Charlie\’s gonna meet his great grandfather!! It\’s not very common nowadays, I was lucky enough to know mine, and hopefully Dante will remember his. Hope that the move is going smoothly,
    Antonella

  6. Nora says:

    You may have to  learn the one handed typing and the disjointed commenting.  I start go away and and to come back and finish later quite often.  I would be surprised if someone hasn\’t mentioned it already but I loved slings and packs to wear the baby.  Enjoy the honeymoon of moving home.  It is nice to be around family, I am enjoying it quite a bit.

  7. Joell says:

    Yay! We\’ve both moved!  I\’m glad you are near family.  Having the support is great…but I know you miss Hub!  Trust me, I know how hard that is!  I\’m just back online tonight and glad to read that things are going well.  The pic of Charlie from a couple of blogs ago looks wonderful.  What an adorable little man you have there! 🙂 
     
    Things will be great.  Charlie will be great and you will give him all the love and care he needs to become just who he is supposed to be!  And you will find the church family you need.  Keep those positive thoughts going.  It\’s all good!  As my preacher Daddy likes to say, in his Southern twang, "Honey, even when it ain\’t alright, it\’s alright!"  Hope the meaning translates through cyberspace.  You\’re in my thoughts and prayers!
     
    Joell
     

  8. Christine says:

    My friend Deb loves her baby sling.  She said that it is easier on the back than front or back carriers.  I think every baby goes through a "hold me 24/7" stage.  My youngest wanted to be held 24/7 after he was sick at 5 months old, but there was a twist.  He would only let me or my DH hold him.  If anyone else held him, he SCREAMED.  Take advantage of having relatives close by while hubby is still in Arkansas.  Be grateful for the milestones when they come.  He may be behind right now, but it is amazing how much they can catch up with proper care and PT and OT.  Most of all, know you are loved.
     
    Christine
    As My House Turns

  9. Aimee says:

     i am so glad that you are staring to get settled…it\’s great to hear things are starting to come together for you guys…
    *~*   :o) smiles are very contagious…  :o) not to mention free…  :o)  so pass one on to anyone every chance that you get…  :o)  before you know it the whole world will be smiling because of you… :o)   *~*

  10. Becca says:

    The good outweighs the bad everytime!
    Hugs,
    Becca
    http://escape-for-a-sec.blogspot.com 

  11. Jennifer says:

    I think it\’s just hard for people to think of a baby having a tremor; to you, it\’s gotten to be something of a normality. Still, just remember that not everyone\’s been through it like you have. 🙂 And I think you could tell them he will be okay. He may not be perfectly healthy, but I think he\’ll be okay, at least! (yay optimism!)I hope you find a great new church. 🙂 It may take a little work and a little exploring, but I\’m sure you can do it. I have some friends who started a project to visit different churches and blog about their experiences, and I think for them writing about the visits helped them really to examine what they liked and didn\’t like about each church. (www.churchhop.blogspot.com if you care to check it out.) They\’re on something of a hiatus at the moment, but the previous posts are still interesting to read. Anyway– best of luck with that, and everything!

  12. Wahzat says:

    Good to know that things are going great for you and Charlie.  
     
    And free food is always the best especially with an infant who requires constant holding. I looked forward to free food when I had my son.
     
    Have a great weekend.
    G

  13. siobhan says:

     Charlie is going to surprise a lot of people!!  Don\’t let people get your back up.  I\’m sure that they are just trying to be supportive.  OF COURSE  you are going to love Charlie no matter what!  I\’m sure that is not what they are saying, but I\’m also sure that it is a little hard not to be a little extra sensitive right now.  Never you worry, everything is going to be just fine!!
    I have always wanted to see N.O.  I love cities like that with so much history!  I\’m sure that you will find a church that you like. 
    Regarding Charlie wanting to be held all the time, Try using a sling.  They worked wonders for me!! 
    Hugs
    Siobhan

  14. KEL says:

    With the good comes the bad and sometimes the ugly, but we take it for what it\’s worth and keep going.  It sounds like you\’ve definitely got a full plate in front of you, but it also sounds like the benefits you\’ve gained by being closer to your family and friends is a blessing in disguise!  Keep hanging in there!!~K

  15. Tracy says:

    Wow I go away for a week and come back to find that you\’ve moved!!   Hope you are settling in and that the hub can join you soon!

  16. Gina says:

    not being able to blog because you have to hold Charlie 24/7 is like music to my ears! :o) I\’m glad you are getting plenty of cuddle time with Charlie. Hope everyone is settling in nicely! 

  17. Sarah says:

    Sounds like you\’re getting settled in. It\’ll take a little time, but things will get back to a normal routine! 

  18. BP says:

    I can tell you my hate list would be considerably larger.
    I\’m happy to hear everything seems to be going well for you.  I just happened to read one of your previous entries about the test scores.  While I despise the standardized tests, I can definitely appreciate where you\’re coming from.  My nephew is a special ed child who has made tremendous leaps and bounds over the last few years.  He just entered the sixth grade and I\’m just so proud and how much better he is doing at reading.  The only thing I was able to accomplish within this summer was teaching him how to tell time.  Right now he gets it right about 90% of the time.  This is remarkable when you consider he wasn\’t able to do much of anything before.  He\’s even able to tell what time it is on a watch that doesn\’t have the numbers.  He still might have to count by fives, but that is a huge step for him.  I only wish he was still living with me so I could dedicate more time to making sure he continues to improve.  Both my nephew and niece lived with me for a year and a half and I feel I have a very positive role in their educational development.  I know they are eating better now than they were before they lived with me and they have made great strides in their scholastic improvement.
    Oh yeah, forgot to thank you for the lovely comment.Billy 

  19. CJ says:

    Have you considered on of the voice programs that does the typing for you?  You\’ve had so many incredible changes this year!  I love that you\’re getting to spend so much time holding your Charlie!  What a little angel 🙂 .And now you\’re back in your home town.  Wow.  It\’ll all come together for you.  Know that you remain in my thoughts and prayers.

  20. Unknown says:

    Charlie!!!! I\’m so freaking glad he\’s doing  wonderful. AND I\’m glad you\’re home.
     
    I\’m seeing in my minds eye St. Charles Avenue and the oaks…and the zoo….and the trolly….
     
    I need a good church here…but one with…dare I say it? Yes I do dare…Less corn cob up thier bum people. Jeez I KNOW all these stay at home moms here on the base just CAN NOT be this goody goody…ack!
     
    the girl that thinks now before she speaks…and I\’m sure this may be a good thing over all,
    Mercy

  21. g says:

    You\’ll have such a great lunch, I\’m sure.
     
    g.j. 

Leave a Reply

