Questions

 What She Wore: Blue jean capris, light blue t-shirt, flip flops.  I really shouldn’t blog on days where I’m wearing crap.


Well, being home again is interesting.  I haven’t had a social life like this in ages–lunches, visitors, movies, phone calls.  I feel like a freakin’ prom queen.  I’d gotten used to having no phone calls in a day, and eating out with friends maybe once a month or less.  It’s definitely different when you’re back in your home town. 
 
Whenever I get a chance at some adult conversation, I ask people the following question: I plan on having two children.  For the next one, should I consider trying a vaginal delivery, or just schedule the c-section.  On the one hand, it would be great to know exactly when the baby was coming.  On the other, I don’t know how I feel about the idea of having two kids and never having felt a contraction.  I’ll have no water-break story, no concept of the pain involved. 
 
A VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean) might not even be a possibility, but I wonder: should I try it, or skip the whole thing?
 
KM
 
PS: Did you know that the word P00P is banned by MSN in comments?  I was leaving a comment about diapers, and it wouldn’t let me use the word.  They’d be horrified if they knew I did a whole blog on the topic.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Questions

  1. Tracy says:

    Glad you are enjoying being back home!!!  You must be so busy between the socializing and caring for the little one!
     
    I don\’t have advice on the whole next baby thing since I really don\’t know what I\’m talking about in that department!
     
    And…I\’ll be thinking about you on Saturday night when my HOKIES are playing LSU!!

  2. Gina says:

    Sorry can\’t comment on the whole birthing thing – but hopefully someone can give you some good insights.
     
    Enjoy all the socializing!

  3. Della says:

    I had an emergency c-section with my daughter.  I\’m about to have a scheduled one with my son, at the end of this month.  My opinion is that pain isn\’t necessary to "give birth" and that c-sections are just as valid of a way as a vaginal birth.  I am happy I don\’t have to go through painful contractions and a birth of indeterminate length and intensity.  Also, since I have a 6 year old, I can plan better where she\’s going to be and with who, causing less stress for her.  I like to be in control and have a Plan (and yes, in my head, my Plans are capitalized!)in place, so I have no doubts about my decision to have another c-section!  just my two cents…. 

  4. Aimee says:

    well that is just weird…it\’s such a funny word…
     
    anyway i think you are ok not knowing what contractions are like…i would be 100% ok with never knowing that pain…
    *~*   :o) smiles are contagious…  :o)  so pass one on …  :o)  soon the whole world will be smiling… :o)   *~*  

  5. Aimee says:

    well that is just weird…it\’s such a funny word…
     
    anyway i think you are ok not knowing what contractions are like…i would be 100% ok with never knowing that pain…
    *~*   :o) smiles are contagious…  :o)  so pass one on …  :o)  soon the whole world will be smiling… :o)   *~*  

  6. Jaysey says:

    Knowing nothing about it (and hoping never to), I just wonder why you\’d want the pain.  Also, I\’d say you\’ve got one helluva story with Charlie…screw the water-breaking stories…they\’d just pale in comparison anyway.
    Glad to hear you\’ve got a bumping social life filled with adult conversation! 

  7. Becca says:

    I don\’t know. I have gone both ways, I had a vaginal with my daughter and a c-section with my son. I can\’t say that either way is necessarily pleasant, pain wise. Go with your gut, but you do know that a c section is major surgery and you won\’t necessarily have as much down time with Charlie most likely being a toddler and a newborn. And lets see if you can say po*op this way? 🙂
    Hugs,
    Becca 

  8. Unknown says:

    Hiiisssss hiiiissss p00p p00p….under the tree kid…lol.I say try the vaginal after the C section. I have a friend who did it and said she recovered a lot faster AND it was so much less pain in the long run. I think it\’s pretty normal to try it now-a-days. I think Rebecca also has a point w/ the down time thing to.I\’m jealous of your social life. Now on account of not having a social life I\’ve been kidnapped and made to join the spouses club. I guess I\’ll have to blog on this…lol. BUT one of the groups I joined is a wine club…hehehehe. I bet you\’d love a rum and diet right now wouldn\’t you? Not to much longer…lol! I craved margaritas sooooo badly when I was preggo and breast feeding….lol. take care kiddo!!!Mercy

  9. Nora says:

    Funny think about banned po0p.  Of course I don\’t know about  vbac from personal experience but go for it.I understand the pain thing, I don\’t know why it seems important to some of us.  It seems wierd, I wouldn\’t go to the dentist and not get pain meds.  (Then again I don\’t ask for more.)  I am still bummed I opted for the spinal on my second.  Mostly because it didn\’t work right and I had the baby before they could come back and correct it.  So I can\’t claim no drugs…. silly things really.  I am glad you are doing well.

  10. Antonella says:

    If you are able to and your doc gives you the ok, I\’d try for the vaginal. IN my opinion, I think it\’s just something as a woman I want to experience. I know this sounds sick but when I had Dante, I had an epidural and I couldn\’t feel anything. I wanted to feel something. I felt kind of disconnected from the whole thing. Next time I would like to try to hold out longer and if I get the epidural I\’ll tell them to go easy on the meds they put in it, because I want to feel something! Besides that, with a vaginal birth the healing time is quicker and easier…and this is coming from someone who got lots of stitches! C-sections are hard, I mean, it\’s a surgery! In the end, it\’s really up to you, you\’re the one who has to go through it!
     
    Enjoy your new social life! That\’s great!
    Antonella

  11. KEL says:

    Hum…I didn\’t know the word (not to be mentioned here) was banned, very interesting.  As for the question raised by your blog, personally, I had a c-section with my first and I can say that with the soon-to-be second child, I don\’t want to do it any other way.  There is just something about not having to worry about going thru labor only to find out that I have to have a c-section anyway.  (I guess you can tell what my fear is).~K

  12. Joell says:

    P00P is my 9 yr old daughter\’s favorite word at the moment!  LOL.  It\’s a great word.  We enjoy it at my house!  It\’s so versatile!
     
    As for vag vs. vbac, sounds like a topic for your ob-gyn.  Good luck.   

  13. Unknown says:

     I understand you wanting to do the VBAC. I plan on trying to do it the "regular way" even though my future potential kid may be over 10 pounds, like his half-brother, father, and uncles.
     
    It\’s interesting that they\’ll let you write "vaginal" but not "p00p." 

  14. Toni says:

     I will only say this: water-breaking stories are terrifically overrated. Did you know only a small percentage of women actually have their water break at the beginning of labor? Never happened with me. My birth stories were both pretty unspectacular except for the fact they\’re mine.
    ALTHOUGH…I say if you wanted to try for a VBAC and your docotor okays it…go for it. You get the baby either way. Then the real story starts.
    And I have to agree with someone who commented…you do already have one hell of a Charlie story.

  15. g says:

    I had a c-section the first round and decided to have a vaginal for the second.   I ended up having a c–section the second time around after being in labor for a brief time cuz the cord was wrapped around his neck three times.  I was in labor (heavy) for like 12 years with my first, and had to have a c-section cuz she was stuck in the birth canal.  So, I would just do the section and plan the day of birth instead of going through all that and STILL having to have a c-section.  It wears you down and then you have the surgery, the exhaustion, and the baby to deal with.  Good luck in your decision.
     
    g.j. 

  16. g says:

    I did not know that poop was banned my msn.  So, I thought I would try it and see if it works.   Here goes.
     
    g.j. 

  17. g says:

    Well, it worked?!  LOL.  Did you mean another word?
     
    g.j. 

  18. Christine says:

    My first 2 children were natural (no pain meds) vaginal deliveries.  My third child was breech and over 9 pounds.  The doctor would not even consider trying to turn her, so she was a c-section.  I tried to go VBAC with my fourth child, but he decided to flip breech right before they came into my room to break my water.  By the time he was delivered by c-section, he was almost turned back to head down.  BTW, the only time my water broke was at 3 in the morning on my oldest son\’s First Communion day when my third child (who was still breech) decided it was time 3 days BEFORE she was supposed to arrive by c-section.  Make sure your doctor discusses all the risks and benefits to VBAC before you make a decision.  Ultimately, it is a decision that you  will make with your doctor as the time arrives.  I hope Charlie is doing well. 

  19. Sarah says:

    I\’ve been having problems with comments once in awhile here lately too. Usually there isn\’t even anythign in them that I would think was bad!  

  20. Nadine says:

    Weellllll the gauntlet has been thrown!!! Poop is no big deal! I have typed out $hit before but I can\’t type poop???? 

  21. Nadine says:

    Now that that is outta the way…what were we talkin\’ about??
     
    There was an article in the Tulsa World about this subject….as my baby days are behind me I didn\’t read it. But apparently it is a big deal to schedule your child\’s birthday…..who knew?? I say let nature takes it course and if the doc needs to step in and assist so be it!
     
    How\’s Charlie?

  22. siobhan says:

     I agree with Rebecca.  You would have less down time.  Conor was induced so I was in the hospital from beginning to end.  But in the end your doctor is going to have a lot to say about it! 
    Glad you\’re having such a good time being home!
    Hugs
    Siobhan

  23. Wahzat says:

    Well first off I think it is awesome that you are thinking of baby number 2 already and that you are not gun shy. Wonderful.
     
    To be honest I have had two vaginal deliveries (my daugther was induced) and I am still wondering what contractions really feel like and thanking GOd that my water never broke… yes God has blessed me. If I was to get pregnant again I would go vaginal again, however the C-section thing really doesn\’t sound half bad and I think i would try it if I wasn\’t so petrified of going under . My sister had her first son as a C-section and her second son as VBAC and after she had VBAC she wondered why she didn\’t do the C-section. the pain was really intense and if she was to ever get pregnant again she will definitely have it delivered via C-section.
     
    I think you should wait and see and I am with Jaysey why do you need water-breaking stories! Hugs to you

Leave a Reply

