Too Much Time

What She Wore:  Blue Jean capris (what else?); peach, scoop-neck tee, beaded gold flip flops. 

Last night I couldn’t sleep, and somehow, I ended up on Myspace for about a million hours.  Seeing all those people whose names I can’t remember really got me thinking.  Thinking about my Catholic high school at 1 am is a dangerous thing.  Here’s what I came up with:
 
Why are so many people that I know lawyers? 
 
I must be the only person I know who hasn’t been to Grad school–well, I’ve been, but finished?  Nope.
 
We all looked like crap in high school.  I think we knew that, but there were no boys around, so nobody cared. 
 
That girl you thought was a lesbian?  She is.
 
That girl you never thought was a lesbian?  Her too. 
 
Everyone I have ever known likes the Shop-a-holic books–and I haven’t read one of them. 
 
The girls I barely talked to in high school seem to be the most interesting now–not that it isn’t totally great that ole-so-and-so is a doctor/lawyer/pharmacist and has a nice house and a baby, but the intesting ones are the ones who moved to France, profess a great love of Literature, or write their own music.  Everyone else’s lives look boring compared to those.
 
Who the hell wants to be a lawyer anyway?
 
KM
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Too Much Time

  1. Aimee says:

    not the lesbians?
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*  

  2. BP says:

    I just wanted to give you a quick shout out.  I’m still trying to catch up with everything.  I’ll come by again later.
    Yours,
    Billy

  3. Unknown says:

    If it makes you feel any better, I haven\’t read any of the Shopaholic books either.  

  4. Sarah says:

    I just have to say that I don\’t even know what the Shopaholic books are.
     
    Looking at myspace and/or facebook and seeing what my old classmates are up to really makes me feel like a bore-fest! It\’s a little depressing.
     
    I definitely don\’t want to be a lawyer…it\’s enough responsibility being a legal secretary!

  5. Unknown says:

    This is how "out of the loop" I am – I did not realize until about 3 weeks ago that you could look up people on myspace by your graduation year.  Once I found that out, I spent a gazillion hours on there.  It\’s a little addictive, isn\’t it?  I found out a LOT of interesting information, some of which I wish I hadn\’t.  And by the way, I love the shop-a-holic books too :)God bless 🙂

  6. Leah says:

    *cough* I took the LSAT. Did rather well, actually. But decided I didn\’t want to fall into that deep dark well of anonymity. Jumped over that and the MBA pit. Thank GOOOOOOOOOOOOODness. I mean, really, who the hell wants to be a lawyer anyway? 🙂

  7. Antonella says:

    I just caught up with a whole bunch of "old" friends on Facebook and I found the same. So many people are traveling all over and have all kinds of fancy jobs and things like that. It\’s strange. I don\’t know about you, but I still don\’t feel like an adult, so it\’s weird, I have a few friends that are lawyers now too. I don\’t know it\’s weird. And, I definitely would never have any desire to be a lawyer!
    Antonella

  8. Toni says:

    Funny…because I always wonder, how does my current situation (married stay-at-home mom in oklahoma, a house, a station wagon and 2.5 kids) sound to people I used to know? The story of how I got here is anything but boring! And where I hope my life will go is even cooler than that! Am I just deluding myself? My space on myspace seems pretty boring when I think about it. And I have never even heard of the Shopaholic books. Oh well.

  9. Unknown says:

    LOL!OMG she\’s a lesbian?!?!?!What\’s a shop-o-holic book???Dammit my husband is a lawyer!!!!lol, Mercy

  10. g says:

    OMG..i got my masters degree and lost 40 pounds.  Glad it is done and over…
     
    g.j. 

  11. Joell says:

    Great post…cracked me up!  Girl I love to read, but I\’ve never read those shop-a-holics either.  Don\’t feel bad!  LOL
     
    Joell 

Leave a Reply

