Tryouts

What She Wore: olive green wide-leg capris (I’d call ’em gauchos, but that word tends to get people all riled up); white, scoop-neck tee, black strappy sandals.

I considered a lot of titles for this blog.
 
It could have been "Katy Falls for Money Pitt."  I did fall for a money pitt–a precious, 1600 square-foot cottage on a huge lot that needed quite a bit of updating–but my husband was not so impressed.  He says he can’t think about these things until after he takes his professional engineers liscense.  At the rate we’re going, I’m going to be living with my mother-in-law forever.
 
It could have been "The Child Who Never Sleeps."  Seriously.  My child is awake for most of the day.  He’s got more stamina than I do.  When I’m thinking how bout a nap?, he’s thinking party time!
 
I considered "Bringing Sexy Back."  Scratched that one–not even a little original.  I do need to exercise though.  I’m done growing a human, and it’s time to start looking like it.  Losing ten pounds is not so easy when you go out to lunch ALL THE TIME.  What else am I going to do?  If I take the baby to visit my mom and dad, they always want to go eat.  And when I visit my grandpa too.  Or my brother.  Crap.  This is why I’m so fat.
 
I almost went with "Shoes Make Everything Better."  This is the last month where my husband gets his chunky, Air Force pay checks, so I figured I better go out and enjoy the dough while we’ve still got it.  Shoes, shoes, shoes!  Scrunchie boots, animal print heels, and a pair of flats that I’m not so sure about.  I really like them, but flats always seem to end up sitting on the shelf. 
 
I decided to settle for "I May Not Be Rich."  I may not be rich in money, but I sure am rich in friends.  A college buddy of mine, who’s a physical therapist, e-mailed her friend who’s pediatric physical therapist in another parish.  Viola!  I will be recieving a fax of appropriate exercises to do with the boy.  Take that, Universe. 
 
KM
 
 
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Tryouts

  1. g says:

    sounds  good
     
    g.j.

  2. Normal Every Day Life says:

    That is really good that they gave you something to do in the mean time with "The Boy"!! 
     
    And yes you are right…..I am a military brat first of all and I work for the Dept of the Air Force in civil service!!  I never really thought of Female as being a military thing…LOL   Have a good weekend!!

  3. Becca says:

    Pamper yourself! Just because your are a mom doesn\’t mean that stops! Hey if shoes do it for you, go for it!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  4. Jaysey says:

    I definitely need anti-anxiety drugs.  But…similarly to your husband, I can\’t afford to go to the doctor on the insurance plan I work so hard for.  Maybe I should quit and go on Medicaid, too. 😉 
     
    It\’s good to have friends who have friends who have friends who can help you out.  Glad to hear that you\’ll be getting something done despite the Universe! 😉

  5. Unknown says:

    Um…what is this?  I was looking up Barnyard sex?!?!  What is this blog doing here????baaaaa baaaa,Mercy

  6. Aimee says:

    sounds like you should have called it…life\’s ups and downs…but the best part is that the weight can be lost….and you family is with you…and who really needs money anyways…lol…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  7. KEL says:

    Sounds like "life" has gotten you running crazy these days, but despite what the universe has in store for you, you\’ve managed to find a way around it.  You go girl–it\’s always great to have friends and family near when life is a little hectic!~K

  8. Antonella says:

    Katy that\’s great news about you getting some exercises for Charlie!!!
     
    I wouldn\’t get too upset about the weight, Charlie\’s like almost 4 months right??(I think he was born on my sister\’s b-day…June7th?) I still had quite a bit of weight to lose at that point.  And, I don\’t know if you\’re still breastfeeding, but if you are, as soon as Charlie goes through a growth spurt, the weight will fall off!
     
    Dante still isn\’t really a "napper." It\’s really exhausting, but it\’s gets easier when they\’re able to sit up, cuz then he can sit for a while and play by himself(in a safe place of course) and you can take a nap.
     
    Good luck with Charlie\’s new exercises,
    Antonella

  9. Sarah says:

    Sounds like you\’re busy as ever!

  10. Unknown says:

    Shoe shoppin\’ and eatin\’ out.  Nothing wrong with that!  :)God bless 🙂

  11. Tracy says:

    ABout the child not napping…I think the same thing when I watch my nieces…and they are still going strong at like 9pm and I\’m ready for bed and I\’m thinking how the heck does this 4 year old have more energy than I do…we got up at the same time and she didn\’t nap!
     
     

  12. Nadine says:

    I\’m not big on flats….I am 4 foot 11 and I want all the boost I can get!
     
    Have a great weekend!!

  13. serf says:

    Just wanted to drop by a let you know I got a big kick out of your "Bubba at the bait store" comment at singlejenn, aka Jaysey\’s space.  I laughed, but then suddenly realized, hey, she may be talking about me!  Made me do a quick Bubba Check:
    Born and raised in the South – check
    Overweight – check
    Has rifles, shotguns and pistols (plural form indicates two or more of each) – check
    Loud – check (but I think this caused by hearing losses due to shooting above weapons rather than being obnoxious)
    Uneducated – failed; has a college degree in Civil Engineering
    Drinks, cusses and uses tobacco products – failed; I don’t
    Is there any such thing as a half Bubba? 

  14. siobhan says:

    Great news about the exercises.  And it\’s great to have friends!  Don\’t worry about the weight it\’ll come off.  It took 9 months to gain it, so give your self a break!

  15. Nora says:

    That is so exciting that Charlie is progressing so well.  Babies are amazing.  What a bummer about the therapy.  The healthcare system seems so broken. I guess we should be grateful we don\’t live in the third world, but it doesn\’t seem like it should be this hard either. I don\’t want to get started so I am going to stop there.

  16. Gina says:

    I enjoyed reading this post.  Glad that you got to boost up your shoe collection and that you\’ve been enjoying lunches with the family (weight-schmeight, I bet you look gorgeous). 
     
    Kisses to Charlie

  17. serf says:

    Two more strikes against me being a Bubba – do not have the number on my vehicle and do not own a truck (both of these are serious failings when it comes down to determining one\’s Bubba status!)
     
    It is good to hear you\’re getting needed help for your son.  I also liked reading he\’s in "let\’s go gear".  I would think this is sooo much better than the reverse.  I seem to remember from those times many years ago, when we had little one\’s, that there were months of wandering about in a somnambulate state.  We never seemed to get enough rest until the child began to rest on a regular schedule.  The following days were glorious times of recuperation (which lasted until they became teens).
     
    Be encouraged – The best is yet to come.

  18. serf says:

    *do not have the number 3

  19. Joell says:

    Sounds like everything is rolling right along! 🙂 
     
    AND, call \’em gauchos girl!!  I personally get riled up when thinking about wide legs! LOL 
     

  20. Wahzat says:

    I am sending you virtual reality hugs.
    You are so positive and more times than not I am sititng here with a tear in my eyes wondering at the trials we are given and thankful that prayers are answered. God is great and the Universe is wonder ful. I am really liking the \’I may not be rich\’ title.
     
    Here is to keeping positive and buying lots of shoes… wait and see when Charlie has need for shoes then the shopping will really start LOL
     
    Prayers as always for you and strong Charlie.
    Hugs

  21. Toni says:

    Oh, to have a little cottage…fix it up…plant flowers all around…one day. One day.
    And shoes do make everything better–not a bad title at all.
    Toni

Leave a Reply

