Can’t Have it All

What Whe Wore: Wide-let denim capris; black strappy sandals, a very strange (but cute) shirt with a share neckline, a loose cut and multi-colored stripes.  It’s hard to describe.


Provided I can get the freaking bank people to call me back, the house is ours.  I am over the moon about this and have images of a white picket fence and a seasonal flag flying out front.  I feel incredibly blessed, and promise to post a picture soon.

Unfortunately, we also heard today that Charlie will be having shunt surgery.  The doctor feels that it would best protect him from having any further brain damage.  I am no happy, but after everything we’ve been through I’m trying to focus on the positive.  He’ll have two days to recover in the hospital and that’s it.  I being really positive, but I’m also asking that anyone who prays to go ahead and put us on their list–they’ve helped us so much in the past. 

You might now be able to have it all–but I don’t feel like it’s the end of the world either.  I’ve cried some tears, but mainly because I don’t want my little guy to hurt.  In the end, I will cling to the faith that has gotten me this far.

KM

About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Can’t Have it All

  1. Nora says:

    Yeah on the house, boo on the surgery.  Will definitely add him to our prayer list.  Do you have a date for the surgery?

  2. Nadine says:

    One thing at a time….be patient!
    Your little family is always in my prayers!
     
    Big Okie Hugs!!

  3. Joell says:

    Congrats on the house!  Yay! 
     
    When is Charlie\’s surgery?  I\’m definitely praying and trusting that all will be well!!
     
    Life\’s just one big ol\’ rollercoaster, eh? 😉
     
    Hang in there, girl!
     

  4. Loural says:

    I just wanted to say I\’ve been following along with your challenges with Charlie and I\’ll keep you guys in my prayer. Stay strong and hang in there. Oh and Congrats on the house..that\’s awesome!
    Loural

  5. Sarah says:

    I\’ll definitely put your family on my prayer list. How exciting about the house! I can\’t wait to see pictures. 🙂

  6. Unknown says:

    Congrats on the house! And I\’m definitely praying for you guys.  Hang in there!God bless 🙂

  7. Stacy says:

    Putting you on my list right now for both the house and Charlie.  When you have a date for the surgery let us know so that we can pray him through the surgery.
     
    -S.

  8. Alicia says:

    I am SO glad to see he is progressing!!  And the pics of him are ADORABLE!!  What a cute little guy!!  You\’ll be in my prayers, Katy.
     
    HUGS!!!!  🙂

  9. Gina says:

    I\’m happy to hear about the house, but  hear about Charlie.  But if the surgery will help in the long run that so be it. Wishing your beautiful guy a successful surgery and a quick recovery. Kick some butt, Charlie!

  10. Gina says:

    * but sad to hear about charlie that should say.
     
    Btw, did you ever say why you named Charlie…Charlie? Just curious. I always like to hear about how parents decide on baby names.

  11. Tracy says:

    Great news on the house!  I know you are anxious to get settled someplace!
     
    Tough news for little Charlie, but I guess you gotta still keep the big picture in mind and remember things could be worse!
     
     

  12. Aunt says:

    love and prayers for your little family.

  13. Normal Every Day Life says:

    You are in my prayers!!  When is the surgery??  I hope this is the last one for that little guy!!  and good luck on the house.
     

  14. IRENE says:

    hurray about the house, I know your little family will be very very happy there!  Don\’t worry about Charlie..hasn\’t he shown you how strong he is yet???  Its a difficult pill to swallow and honestly kudos to you for being so strong, but yes, keep your eye on the prize and all will be well.  No mother wants to see her child suffer, but if this is for the best, then we\’ll all just keep on praying to god and i\’m sure on surgery day He will have us all in stereo up there.

  15. Antonella says:

    Congrats on the house!
    I will be praying for Charlie. Let us know how it goes.
    HUGS,
    Antonella

  16. BP says:

    I thought I would drop by and check how everything is going with Charlie and your family.  A new house, yeah.  That sounds great and I am positively ecstatic for you.  I will keep you and your family in my thoughts as Charlie and all of you go through this surgery.Good luck and continue to stay as positive as possible, it really works.Billy Paul

  17. Leah says:

    I don\’t know, it probably gets annoying to hear these glib "at least…" types of comments, but everytime you write \’shunt\’ I think about this little baby boy I held in Haiti once whose head weighed 24 pounds because he had hydrocephalus and developed cataracts when a nurse left the fan on in his room (his head was so big he couldn\’t shut his eyes).
     
    Charlie gets a shunt! (adorable name, btw). He\’s had a tough start on life, but he has access to some of the best health care in the world. He wouldn\’t do any better anywhere else than where he is right now. He\’ll be the best he can be. 🙂 Chin up, he sounds like a fighter.

Leave a Reply

