Home Again

What She Wore: Wide-leg blue jean capris; my ubiquitous black strappy sandals; t-shirt from Florida that I got when I was about fourteen–it’s one of my favorites.


We’ve just returned from the hospital.  Charlie is sleeping in his vibrating chair next to me.  He required morphine the day of surgery and then just tylenol yesterday.  Today, he’s had no pain killers at all–kids are so tough!  Now that the pressure has been relieved, his soft spot has become a soft trough.  Follow-up scans reveal good placement, so we’re looking pretty good so far.  We’ll be back in six weeks to see if his ventricles have begun to shrunk.  My mother-in-law conveniently had some random school holiday come up, so she was able to stay with me in the hospital and help out.  All and all, I’d say the experience wasnt’ bad as far as hospital stays go.  For now, we just watch and pray that there are no unexpected complications.
 
Thank you so much for the well-wishes and prayers.  I am always so grateful.
 
KM
 
PS:  Sitting around the room gave me some great ideas for blogs: my MIL’s cat, the role of the stay-at-home mom, and the mean nurse who yelled at my mom.  Let’s see if I can’t get them all down on paper.
About takedeux

In one summer I had a baby who was hospitalized for five weeks, quit my job, and moved back to my hometown. This blog is about starting over.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Home Again

  1. Unknown says:

    YAY!!  Thank goodness kids are tough…  :o)
     
    Can\’t wait for the new blogs…I\’ve been finding it very hard to get motivated being a SAHM, I just learned that abbreveation btw. (stay at home mom) I mean laundry, dishes, cooking, baby on hip…day after day. I think it was easier working….sheesh.  92% I love it…the other part of me wants to go back to work…lol.
     
    So when is the move in date????

  2. Gina says:

    I\’m happy to hear that Charlie is resting comfortably at home! Deep sigh of relief!

  3. Joell says:

    WHEW!  Thanks for the update Katy.  Glad all went smoothly.  Now prayers for a quick and smooth recovery!!!
     
    Go Charlie Go!
     
     

  4. Jaysey says:

    Glad it went well–can\’t wait for those blogs–sound like good ones!

  5. Toni says:

    wonderful–just what i was hoping to read. i\’m so glad it went well and you guys are back home safe and sound.
    some nurse yelled at your mother in law? what the hell for? can\’t wait for those stories.

  6. Nora says:

    Glad all went well.  Can\’t wait for those other blogs as well.
     
    Nora

  7. Tracy says:

    Glad it went well and little Charlie\’s a tough guy!!
     
    Those blogs sound interesting!!

  8. Nadine says:

    Glad to know all is well. I can\’t wait to hear about the nurse yelling at your mother!!
     
    Hugs!!

  9. g says:

    Glad everything is going good.  Hope it keeps.  What a strong boy you have.
     
     
    g.j.

  10. Unknown says:

    I\’m glad to hear everything went well!  Hang in there!God bless 🙂

  11. KEL says:

    Congrats on how well the surgery went with Charlie and I am so happy to hear he is doing so well.  I will keep him in my prayers.~K

  12. Shelly says:

    Prayers coming along with many happy thoughts….. I can\’t even imagine what you must be going through no wonder you don\’t know up from down!  Whew!  I don\’t think I would know either!  I\’m happy to hear your lil man is doing better and is home with you. 
    I\’ll stop by again soon.   Take care and I\’ll be thinking of you and your family.
    Ttfn

  13. Big Dog Mom says:

    Glad that Charlie is doing well and is home.  Hospital stays are always stressful . . . especially when it\’s a baby.  Can\’t wait to hear about the future blogs.  A nurse yelled at you MIL?  Oh my my my . . . that\’s gotta be some story.  Lots of prayers coming your way. 

  14. Gracia says:

    Goodness, K – I\’ve obviously missed way too much here.  As far as I can tell you had a little addition?  That is wonderful :))))))
     
    Bless you and your family!
     
    …and for what its worth… yr in my prayers.
     
    Gracia~~~

  15. Siobhan says:

    I\’m glad Charlie\’s surgery was successful.  I can\’t imagine the amount of stress you have in your life.  Moving is catalyst enough for crazy days.  You are one strong lady.

Leave a Reply

